High School Rockerz

Manurewa High School won first prize at the High School Rockerz competition, a Bollywood Dance competition held on Saturday 24 May at the Logan Campbell Centre.

The Manurewa High School group came first with majority of the votes and received a trophy and a $1,000 cheque.   Michael Saili Motu also won best male award. 

The group's mentor and coach, Swati Patel, said the team definitely lifted the standard this year.  "They worked hard on their dance, which was a mix of traditional and modern.  Six of the boys in the group are non-Indians, but that didn't stop them impressing the audience.  Rather than finding the Bollywood atmosphere overwhelming, they brought a huge amount of energy to the stage and were even confident enough to go and talk to the organisers and judges."

The thirteen students who made up the dance group were:
Nikita Chand  13APD
Christian Atoa, 13TLA
Sohil Chetty 13PMO
Marissa Hirst  13ACH
Jayson Iosefa  13TCU
Anjali Karan 10AKR
Sheena Kumar  10AVL
Falagi Leavai 13KPL
Sintisha Naidu  10AKR
Prashant Prakash 12ABA
Michael Saili Motu 13KPL – award for best male dancer
William Boquiron  13KPL
John Tuitupou  13KHR


Share this article: